Honey, You Should Break Up With Your Boyfriend

It is better to be safe than regret.

Laila Khairina
1 min readApr 12, 2022
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

I am saying this from the perspective of someone that has only experienced one relationship.

If I could change one thing about my past, it would be my past relationship.

We should’ve broken up earlier.

I am going to be honest, I despised him a lot. Three months after the breakup, I realized how stupid I was to stay.

I hated seeing myself being disrespected,

I loathed the time when I was silenced he acted like my mental health did not exist,

I detested him for gaslighting me.

But that was not the main reason why I wanted us to break up earlier.

I hated the version of myself during the relationship.

I disrespected someone’s privacy,

I couldn’t control my anger,

I didn’t focus on myself and close people in my life,

I enabled my nasty behavior.

I should’ve quit when the voice inside myself told me to stop and let go.

But I didn’t. I shut that voice completely and continued the relationship for it to crumble at the end.

You might be in that position right now.

It is safer to let go now than say sorry to yourself later.

--

--

Laila Khairina

Obviously a new writer. Will appear when she feels like it.